Birty Dastards Jeep Club

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2.5 TD 97 Grand Cherokee Laredo Won't Start.  (Read 4413 times)

Yokuoh

2.5 TD 97 Grand Cherokee Laredo Won't Start.
« on: January 18, 2012, 11:12:46 AM »

Hello everybody. I'm new here and have looked at some other threads but seem to be going around in circles.

I'm absolutely at my wits end and was wondering if someone can help me..

Recently had some work done where they replaced the fuel filter (with a second hand one) and it's been running and starting well since (for about 3 weeks) until I went to start my jeep - turned over as normal but won't start and eventually battery drains through getting nowhere.  It seems to me like fuel starvation but I'm no expert.  Took the outlet pipe off the fuel filter and turned the engine over and no fuel issues out (assume that it should??)... fuel comes when I work the manual plunger if I pump it fast. Tried starting with easy start but seems like engine is just running on the spray for a few moments before dying quickly.  Fuel and air bubble up at a nylon screw by plunger on filter.

Can anybody point me in the right direction please?

normalbloke

Re: 2.5 TD 97 Grand Cherokee Laredo Won't Start.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 11:28:57 AM »

Welcome, I'm afraid I have nothing positive to add. Someone will be along shortly.
What was the thinking behind a second had fuel filter???

The Smiths

• Forum Member
  • Guru: 1
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 11:54:23 AM »

the fuel pump is the injection pump which pulls it all the way from the tank - so you will have just sucked loads of air into the injector pump.

Look a spill off pipe leaks, or even the "new" one being faulty/letting air in
If you always do what you have always done You will always get what you have always got
Please give to our Mac4x4 fund: http://www.justgiving.com/The-Smiths-2015

Yokuoh