Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Kumho  (Read 1075 times)

merlin22red

Kumho
« on: February 05, 2012, 01:06:04 AM »

Are Kumho tyres any good is that a daft question, I have had some Marshals fitted for 18 months they have been the worst tyre I have had,
I was given what I think is, a good price for some Kumho KL 78s, but then find they are part of the marshals set up or visa versa
 or are they similar to bridge stone and Lassa who are associated but make their own brands

gazjeep

• Marshal
  • Forum Member
  • Guru: 9
  • Vehicle: TJ - Der Panzer - CBR
Re: Kumho
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 09:17:08 AM »

It has been mentioned that they do not perform as well as BFG's on side slops on identical LR disco's but I have no personal knowledge
Taking ya girl to heaven & back

Bubba

• "Cooter"
  • Marshal
  • Guru
  • Guru: 69
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 09:39:23 AM »

bfg is trendy tat  but had a lot kumho and rate them well  i mostly had them in 33 and 35 mud flavor very pleased all round i liked general grabber muds but the side wall was thin

trucks

shedric
cletus
mr whippy

I spent most of my money on alcohol, women and old  iron........ the rest of it I just wasted.

WillCJ

• Guru
  • Guru: 0
  • Vehicle: '83CJ7 V8, 2012 JKU 2.8CRD, '98CJ7/M38
  • Year: '83
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2012, 11:29:23 AM »

Khumo has been my tyre of choice over BFG, but , being a Yorkshire man, price may have helped there!
The ones I have had where the early BFG copy so no difference in pattern, nice flexible tyre, never had sidewall issues. Later BFG have better edge/side lug cut may be some advantage there.
 Kl 78,s never look like a deep tread to me, but thats just an opinion/observation.
Realy useful link here for comparisons;  http://www.offroaders.com/tech/AT-MT-Tires/index.html
If you don't get stuck, your not trying hard enough!

merlin22red